Review: A God in Ruins

A God in Ruins
A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

While this was a very enjoyable book, I actually I liked the companion novel (Life After Life) a bit more. That said, this is a powerful and epic story. Ted Todd was not much more than the sweet Charles Wallace-esque younger brother to Ursula when we met him in Life After Life. In this novel, we see all the depths of Teddy: the young boy who idealized his father, the brave war hero who was quite simply relieved to have something other than his mundane banking job to occupy him, the dedicated, then “plodding,” then bereaved husband, the struggling single father, and the beloved (and much needed) reliable and loving grandfather. I took off a star because at times I felt a bit lost in the narrative, partially because I was worried my poor memory was causing me to miss vital “aha” connections with the Life After Life narrative, but also partially because of how often the narrative jumped around in time. But overall, this is a wonderful read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

